The ACCORD TRAIN STATION, built in 1902, is a remarkably
preserved, sturdy wooden structure whose architecture is
unique to train stations from the turn of the century. In
the nineteenth century, Accord was known as Port Jackson.
Located off route 209, the oldest public road in the U.S.,
Accord linked Kingston with Philadelphia.
The Ontario and Western Railroad bought the Delaware and
Hudson Canal right-of-way to replace boat delivery of
goods to and from local farmers and industry, and
eventually expanded to include passenger service to the
Catskill resorts. Coal and manufactured goods were brought
upstate, and milk and produce were taken to the city. At
the height of its activity, the ice house at the train
station contained 200 tons of ice.
The O&W route originated in New York City and went as far
north as Kingston, with stops at Ellenville, Napanoch,
Port Ben or Port Benjamin, Kerhonkson, Accord, Kyserike,
High Falls, Cottekill, and Hurley. The Accord train
Station had only one stationmaster during its entire
operational history – Michael Palmer. He and his family
lived upstairs. The rail service ended in 1958.
The train station, empty since then, reopened in June 1993
as a multi-arts space run by Verna Gillis/ Soundscape.